Six Will Do

I am on temporary hiatus from Below Ground while I go back to my first novel to do some further editing (maybe one day I’ll be completely happy with it, but not yet!).

To keep you interested in the meantime, I have come up with some six word stories. Ernest Hemingway is credited with arguably the most famous six word story – apparently he was challenged to write a story in six words or less and produced the following:

“For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

Gut-wrenching in its simplicity, this little story shows that you don’t need 100,000 words to evoke emotion – six will do.

So here are a few of my own.

  • Grand opening! Customers scarce. To let.
  • Shouts. Slaps. Pleading. He’s drinking again.
  • Huge pressure. Got 570. Still disappointed.
  • Winning shot… Missed. Maybe next year.
  • Carefully nurtured words. Submission. Rejection. Perseverance!
4 thoughts on “Six Will Do

  1. John Dore says:

    Hi Susie,

    Nooooooooo! I need to know what happens next in Below Ground!

    Here’s a six word story for you:

    “I need fix of Below Ground!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

