The QWERTY Dozen: 12 observations on being a writer

Having been at this writing business for a while now, I’ve come to the realisation that there are certain inescapable truths about the occupation which I’m sure many writers can identify with and family and friends of writers can recognise (probably with a long-suffering sigh). I’m now going to illuminate some of the ones I’ve discovered since I started taking this seriously.

  • There is NEVER enough time in the day to fit in QWERTY keyboardeverything you want to do – having a real job is just plain inconvenient.
  • You develop a great appreciation for exactly the right word used at exactly the right time.
  • You have to cultivate the ability to be selfish and learn how to endure the guilt that comes with saying ‘no’ when you choose to prioritise writing over anything else.
  • You are never bored because every unoccupied moment is a chance to think.
  • You always try to predict the plot of a book or movie while it unfolds and are smug when it transpires as you expect but full of respect if you are surprised by something different.
  • To spend more time on your manuscript, you forgo the latest TV sensations like Making a Murderer and Stranger Things and then regret it when everyone talks about how great they were.
  • You set the alarm earlier and stay up later, trying to eke all you can out of twenty-four hours.
  • Sometimes you think about how life would be so much easier if you didn’t want to be a writer.
  • You can’t read a book without analysing its plot, characterisation, point of view, dialogue and style.
  • You wish you could edit real life – especially when you suffer from foot-in-mouth syndrome like I do.
  • You can travel to other places without actually going anywhere.
  • Returning to writing after a long absence is like greeting a dear friend again.

There are a few negative points above but I don’t mind that. Because, even with early starts or missing out on fun stuff, I still get to write and it’s one of the most challenging and fulfilling endeavours in my life.

P.S. Credit to my husband for the catchy title – when he suggested it, I knew it was Point Number 2 down to a tee!

6 thoughts on “The QWERTY Dozen: 12 observations on being a writer

  1. JJAzar says:

    All of these are dead on. I do try to restrain myself from analyzing when I read, though. I try my best to put my full effort into allowing myself to become fully absorbed in the reading. Analysis can come later. Great post, very true! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

