A fleeting focus on facts and figures (with fireworks)

Usually, when January comes, WordPress delivers a Year in Review report with statistics about the views, posts, comments, etc., on your blog over the past year. They throw in some fireworks too which is always a cheerful sight (here’s the 2015 report for illustration). Unfortunately, their resources didn’t allow for such a service this year which meant I was obliged to go digging for the details myself.  Most of it turned out to be available in the admin section of the site so here are a few points I’ve put together!

In 2016, my website accumulated:

  • 1,252 views (most viewed blog post: A picture is worth a 1,000 words. Or a lawsuit.)
  • 873 visitors (mostly from Ireland, the United States, the United Kingdom, Brazil, Australia, Russia, Denmark, Italy, France and Canada)
  • 55 likes
  • 50 comments
  • 19 new blog posts

I had originally intended to write more blog posts than the previous year and set myself a target of a minimum of two posts per month. However, in August I dropped back to one per month when working on my manuscript really took over. I’m disappointed I couldn’t stick to my goal but I didn’t want to end up producing shoddy content by spreading myself too thin. Nevertheless, even with slightly fewer posts, I still managed to garner more overall views than 2015.

I think now is a good time to look at my follower count too. I didn’t do this last year so I’m comparing current figures to those in December 2014.

December 2014
WordPress site follows: 56
Facebook page likes: 112
Twitter account followers: 23
January 2017
WordPress site follows: 111
Facebook page likes: 115
Twitter account followers: 216

 

 

 

I’ve pretty much doubled my follows on WordPress over the two years. On the other hand, Facebook has proven to be something of a closed circle, as you can see by the dramatic rise of just THREE whole likes…! This shows that people might stumble across me by accident on the other platforms but, unless I make more of an effort to engage and advertise, that isn’t likely to happen on Facebook. The biggest increase is clearly Twitter but the number of followers there tends to fluctuate a lot. It is a fickle place and people often only follow you in order to get a follow back – and if you don’t, they’ll unfollow you lickety split. So the amount of genuine interest is possibly less than what it seems.

And that’s where the facts and figures stand. I must confess that I haven’t spent enough time engaging with the online community (due to time constraints and a shade of shyness) but this is a fault I plan to remedy. My aim is to become more active on all my social media platforms during the coming year and I look forward to making new connections within the reading and writing world.

Oh, and here are some fireworks, just to keep up the tradition!

Fireworks in Florida

This is the only decent fireworks picture I have and it just so happened to be taken five years ago today on a trip to Disney World in Florida (another F!)

2 thoughts on “A fleeting focus on facts and figures (with fireworks)

  1. JJAzar says:

    Congrats, you’ve had a good year! It would have been nice if we could have had a snazzy annual report like the one you linked above from 2015. Regardless, keep with it! All growth is good growth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

