They say a change is as good as a rest – but a rest does the job too

Back in April, I wrote a post about not breaking the chain, which involved making sure I did at least one writing-related task every single day. Having started the chain on the 3rd of January this year, I am pleased to announce that I kept it going for 185 days straight. Despite the best of intentions, however, I knew that I would have to break the chain eventually and ended up doing so on the 7th of July.

But I broke it in spectacular fashion and have in fact taken almost a month off from writing…! This was in order to go on holidays with both my husband’s family and my own. To be honest, I wasn’t sure how I would fare with not being able to write for so long. Having worked at it so consistently since the beginning of the year, I figured I would notice its absence quite acutely. And I did – for the first few days, I found it difficult to relax and I kept thinking I should be doing something. But I gradually got used to the idea that I was indeed on holidays, which meant switching off from everything, and I finally gave myself permission to do so. It became enjoyable to approach each new day without an agenda, and the release that came with that brought a lovely sense of freedom.

The freedom of holidays

We had an absolute ball on our holidays! Naturally, I wasn’t eager for them to be over, but when the time came I felt that I had rested long enough. I was ready to come home and I really looked forward to getting back to my writing. Opening my manuscript and greeting the characters within was like catching up with old friends. I had missed them a lot.

So now, back to work.

2 thoughts on “They say a change is as good as a rest – but a rest does the job too

  1. M says:

    Between ‘messy takeaways’ and ‘summer holidays’, I guess mid-summer 2017 sets you up for the ‘return to real life’!!! September isn’t far away now 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

